Skip to content
main content starts here

Cotter named Administrator of the Year by HFM School Library System

May 3, 2024 | Filed in Archive, HFM Top Stories

The Hamilton-Fulton-Montgomery BOCES School Library System (SLS) honored a number of educators at its 29th annual Celebration of School Libraries luncheon on Thursday, May 2. The event was held at the Allen House on the SUNY Fulton-Montgomery Community College campus.

Corinne “Cory” Cotter of Pleasant Avenue Elementary School in the Greater Johnstown School District was awarded with the library system’s Administrator of the Year award during the celebration. The Administrator of the Year award is given to an individual who exhibits leadership in recognizing the library media center as an integral part of the total school program and has an active personal involvement in the program.

“I am incredibly honored to receive this award,” said Cotter. “I strongly believe that library media centers are critical to have at all levels of a student’s K-12 education. At Pleasant Avenue specifically, it’s a place where students can let their imaginations flow, and learn in a creative way, and I’m very proud to support the work that’s being done in that room.”

Nykole Pertell, the Library Media Specialist at Pleasant Avenue Elementary School, nominated Cotter for the award. Pertell described Cotter as a supportive administrator.

“Cory understands the time needed to maintain the library and ensures that I have that time so the library can remain orderly and inviting to students and staff,” said Pertell.

Pertell’s nomination also highlighted Cotter as a compassionate person who puts the students and staff’s needs first. She also stated that it was Cotter who gave her the confidence to be creative in her role as a media teacher.

“She encourages collaboration between the library and the classroom, which is very important for student development. She is also a promoter of the literacy program and has allowed me to serve as the chairperson for the literacy committee,” expressed Pertell.

The event also included special recognition for Dawn Perron of the Wheelerville Union Free School District and Rebecca Bieniek from the Northville Central School District as both were honored as Library Support Stars.

According to HFM School Library System Director Kristi Beedon, Library Support Stars demonstrate exceptional student assistance skills and commitment to the library mission and library goals through working in libraries and supporting the media specialists.

“These individuals are essential to the overall success of our libraries,” said Beedon.

Also recognized were retirees Terri Brown (Northville), Christine Suhr (Wells), and Laura Campagna (Amsterdam).

The luncheon was attended by teachers, librarians, and administrators from several districts within the HFM BOCES region.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Tags: ,