Skip to content
main content starts here

HFM Career & Technical Education Center honors class of 2023

CTE Principal Mike DiMezza addresses the crowd during the annual CTE commencement ceremony.283 high school seniors were honored at the annual Hamilton-Fulton-Montgomery BOCES Career and Technical Education commencement ceremony on Wednesday, June 14 before an audience of family, friends, faculty, and administrators.

“To the class of 2023, you started a new path here at CTE, and now you can go anywhere you want,” Principal Mike DiMezza said during his welcoming comments. “You, over the past one or two years, have gained a set of skills that you will have forever. No one can ever take that knowledge away from you.”

The ceremony, which took place at SUNY Fulton-Montgomery Community College, recognized students from the 11 HFM area high schools for successful completion of one and two-year programs including auto body repair, auto technology, construction technology, cosmetology, criminal justice, culinary arts, cybersecurity & computer technology, digital multimedia, robotics and engineering technology, environmental conservation, foundations of food services, medical assisting, new visions education, new visions health careers, skilled trades, and veterinary and animal science.Cosmetology students pose for a picture while waiting for the CTE commencement ceremony to start

DiMezza praised the CTE graduates and encouraged them to always do their best.

“Congratulations to you all and thank you for doing your best while you were here,” he said. “Always do your best going forward, that is all that anyone can ask for on your journey. You’re ready.”

In addition to receiving certificates of completion, several special awards were presented to students including:

HFM BOCES Teachers’ Association Award

Lola Schnettler, Canajoharie, Cosmetology
Gary Burns, Mayfield, Digital Multimedia

HFM Superintendents’ Association Award

Anne Stanavich, Amsterdam, New Visions Health Careers
Thomas Holland, Broadalbin-Perth, Cybersecurity & Computer Technology

Ben Conte Pay It Forward Scholarship

Ian G. Lopez, Canajoharie, Environmental Conservation

Adam B. Kline Memorial Scholarship

Trent Andrews, Johnstown, Auto Technology

A number of students were also recognized for their achievements in the classroom:

Auto Body Repair:

Highest Average – William Przybyłowicz, Amsterdam
Most Professional – Aleigha VanAlstine, Fort Plain

Auto Technology:

Highest Average – Anthony Zajaczkowski, Johnstown
Best Attendance – Devin Lamphear, Wells

Cybersecurity & Computer Technology:

Highest Average – Thomas Holland, Broadalbin-Perth
Most Professional – Kai Brennan, Amsterdam

Construction Technology:

Highest Average – Kaiden Divers, Canajoharie
Most Professional – Aaron Hazzard, Johnstown


Highest Average – Lola Schnettler, Canajoharie
Highest Average – Charlotte Sprenkle, Amsterdam
Most Professional – Callie Erb, Mayfield
Most Professional – Lola Schnettler, Canajoharie
Most Professional – Graci Ellsworth, Adult Learner

Criminal Justice:

Highest Average – Alexander Lopez, Oppenheim-Ephratah/St.Johnsville
Most Professional – Connor Harding, Fonda-Fultonville

Digital Multimedia:

Highest Average – Josiah Boston, Amsterdam
Most Professional – Sarah Paul, Mayfield

Environmental Conservation:

Highest Average (Heavy Equipment) – Donoven Melo, Fonda-Fultonville
Highest Average (Forestry) – Landon Frasier, Northville
Best Attendance (Heavy Equipment) – Donoven Melo, Fonda-Fultonville
Best Attendance (Forestry) – Landon Frasier, Northville

Culinary Arts:

Highest Average – Chloe Overbaugh, Broadalbin-Perth
Most Professional – Ian LaCelle, Amsterdam

Foundations of Food:

Highest Average – Leo Perez, Gloversville
Most Professional – Iyanna Gilot, Amsterdam

Medical Assisting:

Highest Average – Riley Simmonds, Broadalbin-Perth
Most Professional – Morgan Knapik, Fonda-Fultonville

New Visions Education:

Highest Average – Aaron Madej, Amsterdam

New Visions Health:

Highest Average – Jaclyn Codi, Fonda-Fultonville
Highest Average – Yomilka Valerio-Nunez, Amsterdam
Most Professional – Melissa Sapia, Amsterdam
Most Professional – Amber Cole, Fonda-Fultonville

Robotics and Engineering Technology:

Highest Average – Kyle Stegel, Johnstown
Most Professional – Garrett Bobowski, Johnstown

Skilled Trades:

Highest Average – Tanner Ackerknecht, Canajoharie
Most Professional – Lukus Bonificio, Fonda-Fultonville

Veterinary and Animal Science:

Highest Average – McKenzie Siler, Gloversville
Most Professional – Nadia Buanno, Fonda-Fultonville

Other highlights of the ceremony included:

The Pledge of Allegiance was led by New Visions in Education students Maryssa Chest, Lindsy Darling, and Aaron Madej.

HFM CTE Honor Society

The 2023 inductees in the HFM Career and Technical Education Honor Society were also recognized during the event. The inductees are:


David Gerke, Denise Green, Brianna Kelly, Aaron Madej, Darius Gainer, Charlette Sprenkle, Ian LaCelle, Juliana Barone-Lopez, Anne Stanavich


Thomas Holland, Megan Bazan, Jordan MacKenzie, Riley Simmonds


Tanner Ackerknecht, Miles Lapi, Kirsten Hyney, Elizabeth Prime


Jonah Bluvas, Emma Crahan, Connor Harding, Viktoria Lee, Marc Baker, Bennett Melita, Donoven Melo, Talia Anderson, Morgan Knapik, Jill Sandel, Lukus Bonificio, Nadia Buanno

Fort Plain

Madeline Heroth


Lindsy Darling, Lily Jones, Arelya Mathias, McKenzie Siler


Brooklynn Heroth, Emilia Haverly, Claire Anderson


Callie Erb, Gary Burns, Jordan Buanno


Abby Pertell, Elizabeth Flickinger, Rachel Williams, Landon Frasier

Oppenheim-Ephratah/St. Johnsville

Alexander Lopez


Sophia A. Cerbo