Skip to content
main content starts here

HFM Career & Technical Center honors 2018 graduates

June 19, 2018 | Filed in Archive

The HFM Career and Technical Center honored more than 250 high school seniors at its annual Student Recognition Program Tuesday, June 19 awarding certificates of completion and special awards to the students before an audience of family, friends, faculty and administrators.

Mr. DeTraglia shakes hands with Jacob Albertine.

HFM Superintendents’ Association Award – presented to Jacob Albertine of Gloversville and Chris T. Mercado of Broadalbin-Perth.

Career and Technical Center Director Jay A. DeTraglia opened the ceremony by recognizing the BOCES Board of Education, and the BOCES and district administrators and teachers, who attended the event. Mr. DeTraglia also thanked the Gloversville Enlarged School District for hosting the program, which was relocated this year due to renovation work underway at the event’s traditional venue at Fulton-Montgomery Community College.

HFM BOCES District Superintendent Dr. Patrick Michel started his address by asking for a round of applause for the CTE teachers and support staff.

“I can’t say enough about what they do for us everyday,” Dr. Michel said.

Dr. Michel noted that graduates today are heading into a growth job market in which CTE graduates have an edge. He encouraged the students to be entrepreneurial, to start businesses and to offer their talents and skills to their community. Dr. Michel also thanked all the parents.

“You cared enough to allow your children to do something extra. Coming to our program is extra. They didn’t have to do this. They put in extra work to get to where they are,” Dr. Michel said. “Congratulations to all the students and the best of luck in your future.”

Special Awards

Mr. DeTraglia shakes hands with Mercado.

Chris T. Mercado of Broadalbin-Perth receives the HFM Superintendents’ Association Award.

During the ceremony, several special awards were presented to students including:

HFM Superintendents’ Association Award – presented to Chris T. Mercado of Broadalbin-Perth and Jacob Albertine of Gloversville.

Dr. Geoffrey H. Davis Memorial Award (CTC Director Jay DeTraglia presents this award in honor of the late Dr. Davis in recognition of scholarship, community service, integrity and the transforming influence of music) – presented to Molly Monge of Amsterdam.

HFM BOCES Outstanding Professional Student Award – presented to Anna King of Mayfield and William J. Dickson of Johnstown.

HFM BOCES Teachers’ Association Award – presented to Makenna Rae Bladek of Fonda-Fultonville and Megan Tesiero of Johnstown.

Ben Conte “Pay It Forward” Scholarship Award – presented to Jacob Battisti of Oppenheim-Ephratah-St. Johnsville.

New Visions Outstanding Professional Student Award – presented to Ashley Ruehle of Johnstown.

Area III Skills USA Awards – presented to Anna King of Mayfield and Meaghan Mcdougall of Fonda-Fultonville.

American Red Cross Scholarship Award – presented to Nicole Taylor Jackson of Johnstown.

Mr. DeTraglia shakes hands with Molly Monge.

Dr. Geoffrey H. Davis Memorial Award was presented to Molly Monge of Amsterdam

National Technical Honor Society

The 2018 inductees in the National Technical Honor Society were also recognized during the event. The inductees are:


Britney Margaret Bascom, Paige H. Bertuch, Kelsey B. Bogdan, Chara E. Boston, Maria I. Bottisti, Mainna Coman, Brandon Michael Davis, Reese Thomas Devine, Kayla Elizabeth Dzikowicz, Michael Hughes, Lucia M. Liverio, Molly Monge, Torin B. Nethaway, Georgia Lynne Marie O’Neill, Santino Perez, Abigail Saines


Joshua A. Cromling, Katelyn Mae Davis, Devon T. Holz, Brendon Gladman, Gabrielle R. Martin, Chris T. Mercado


Meaghan Dingman


Bladek and Tesiero hold their certificates posing for a picure.

Makenna Rae Bladek of Fonda-Fultonville and Megan Tesiero of Johnstown received the HFM BOCES Teachers’ Association Award.

Jennifer Castle, Kaitlyn Dunham, Tyler D. Kearns, Jenna T. Santabarbara, Meghan K. VanAvery, Mariah D.  VanAvery, Gabrielle Michelle VanValkenburgh, Hannah Wozniak


Libby Ashe, Troy Johnson, Cortney A. Quackenbush


Emily D. Clizbe, Riley T. Hall, Abigail J. Levin, Emma Renee Rizzo,  Zachary Ropeter,  Ashley Ruehle


Sydney Ana Dolores Benton, Kristen Kaye Camino, Alis Jeanette Hart, Anna King, Sydney  Katherine Sheldon


Hannah Coupas, Emily Ovitt

Oppenheim Ephratah-St. Johnsville

Dakota Corapi