Skip to content
main content starts here

April 10, 2024 Board of Education Meeting Minutes

June 5, 2024 | Filed in Archive

Hamilton-Fulton-Montgomery Counties
Johnstown, NY 12095

Click here to view printer-friendly April 10 meeting minutes

Dr. Ziskin introduced the HFM BOCES board members.   He noted that Board Member Carmen Caraco from Mayfield will be retiring from the HFM BOCE Board after serving for seven years. He expressed his appreciation for the work that Carmen has done for the BOCES board as well as the Mayfield School District.  He advised the audience that there was a letter from the Commissioner of Education, Betty A. Rosa addressed to the members of the Cooperative Boards of New York State on the occasion of their Annual Meeting on their tables.  He also talked about the HFM BOCES Vision Statement, Mission Statement and Core Beliefs

The Annual Meeting of the Board of Cooperative Educational Services, Sole Supervisory District of Hamilton, Fulton, and Montgomery Counties was called to order by President Harry Brooks at 6:01 p.m.  The President welcomed 63 attendees to the meeting.

Dr. Brooks reflected on the first annual meeting he attended in 1980 and noted that the school board members dedication has not changed.  They have the same energy and enthusiasm as past board members.  He recognized the importance of the work of the component school board members and administrations.

The Call to the Annual Meeting was read by the BOCES Clerk.

The reading of the April 5, 2023 Annual Board Meeting minutes was waived upon a motion made by Mark Brody, Canajoharie Central School District Board Member; seconded by Edward Szumowski, Broadalbin-Perth Central School District Board Member; and unanimously carried.

Jay DeTraglia spoke about the award to recognize Outstanding Workforce Development and Business Partners to HFM BOCES.  Michael DiMezza, Principal of CTE and Kristina Marshall, Coordinator of CTE, presented the 2024 awards to St, Mary’s Hospital and Nathan Littauer Hospital and Nursing Home.  He thanked them for their commitment to helping advance the futures of students enrolled in CTE.

The meeting was recessed at 6:34 p.m. for dinner.   The meeting resumed at 7:05 p.m.

Dr. Ziskin presented on the state of the BOCES and gave an overview of the proposed 2024-2025 Administrative HFM BOCES Budget.

Candidates for the upcoming BOCES Board election were introduced and given an opportunity to address the component boards of education. The candidates addressing the Boards were Rebecca Cozzocrea, Greater Amsterdam School District; Vanessa DiNitto, Mayfield Central School District and Matt Sullivan, Fonda-Fultonville Central School District.

At 7:29 p.m. the meeting was adjourned upon a motion by Edward Szumoski, Broadalbin-Perth Board member; seconded by Paula Brown-Weinstock, Hamilton-Fulton-Montgomery BOCES Board Member and unanimously carried.

Respectfully submitted,

Christine Eaton
Clerk of the Board