Skip to content

HFM BOCES reopening plan available

To read the plan visit:

main content starts here

April 11, 2018 Annual Meeting Minutes

Minutes of BOCES Annual Meeting
Wednesday, April 11, 2018

The Annual Meeting of the Board of Cooperative Educational Services, Sole Supervisory District of Hamilton, Fulton, and Montgomery Counties was called to order by President Joanne Freeman at 6:00 p.m.  The President welcomed 67 attendees to the meeting.

Dr. Patrick Michel, District Superintendent, read a letter from the Commissioner of Education, MaryEllen Elia addressed to the members of the Cooperative Boards of New York State on the occasion of their Annual Meeting.

The Call to the Annual Meeting was read by the BOCES Clerk.

The reading of the April 5, 2017 Annual Board Meeting minutes was waived upon a motion made by Mark Brody, Canajoharie Central School District Board Member; seconded by Matt Sullivan, Fonda-Fultonville School  District Board Member; and unanimously carried.

President Freeman turned the meeting over to Dr. Michel who welcomed everyone and addressed the attendees regarding the following:

  • Cooperative spirit among component school districts
  • Sustainability and the importance of collaboration
  • Thanked the school districts for their support of BOCES programs
  • 2018-19 HFM BOCES Budget

Candidates for the upcoming BOCES Board election were introduced and given an opportunity to address the component boards of education. The candidates addressing the Boards were incumbent James Beirlein, Northville Central School District; incumbent Carmen Caraco, Mayfield Central School District Curtis Peninger, Greater Amsterdam School District and incumbent Allan Turnbull, Fonda-Fultonville School District.

After speaking of the late HFM BOCES Board member David Edward’s legacy, Mrs. Freeman asked his two daughters, Leza McLain and Linda Lavender to help her unveiled the plaque for the David C. Edwards Distinguished School Board Member Service award.

Mrs. Freeman presented Ernie Clapper, Mayfield Central School Board member with a certificate while announcing him the first David C. Edwards Distinguished school Board Member Service award recipient.

At 6:45 p.m. the meeting was adjourned upon a motion by Robert Curtis, Gloversville Enlarged School District Board Member; seconded by Aaron Flynn, Mayfield Central School District Board Member and unanimously carried.  The meeting was followed by a dinner prepared and served by students of the Food Services Program, under the supervision of instructor, Kevin Collins.

Respectfully submitted,

Christine Eaton

Clerk of the Board