Skip to content
main content starts here

Annual Meeting 2020

Minutes of BOCES Annual Meeting
Monday, April 6, 2020

Download printer-friendly Annual Meeting minutes 2020

Annual Meeting video recording

The Annual Meeting of the Board of Cooperative Educational Services, Sole Supervisory District of Hamilton, Fulton, and Montgomery Counties was called to order by President Harry Brooks at 6:00 p.m.  The President welcomed 20 attendees to the meeting.

Dr. Brooks noted that these were unchartered times with the closure of schools and the stay at home orders.  The pandemic facing the world shows the critical roles of schools in society.  In a time of crisis teachers teach and children learn. Schools are not only teaching but feeding children and providing child care for the first responders.  He thanked all the Board members and Superintendents for their leadership in this time of crisis.

Dr. Ziskin, District Superintendent, thanked everyone for participating in the HFM BOCES Annual meeting during this challenging time.  He stated he was proud of the manner the schools have responded to the difficult tasks they have been asked to carry out over the past few weeks. He has watched the Superintendents collaborate and problem solve to provide continuity of learning of all students while also accounting for their nourishment and the child care needs of the families of essential personnel. He also stated that HFM BOCES exists to be a partner, advocate and leader in the region to support schools and the community.

The Call to the Annual Meeting was read by the BOCES Clerk.

The reading of the April 3, 2019 Annual Board Meeting minutes was waived upon a motion made by John DeValve, HFM BOCES Board Member; seconded by Jean LaPorta, HFM BOCES Board Member; and unanimously carried.

President Brooks turned the meeting over to Dr. Ziskin who presented an overview of the proposed 2020-2021 HFM BOCES Budget.

Dr. Ziskin read biographies for the three candidates for the upcoming BOCES Board election. The candidates were incumbents John DeValve, Canajoharie Central School District and Jean LaPorta, Gloversville Enlarged School District.  Gustavo Sacerio, Greater Johnstown Central School District was also nominated.

Dr. Brooks announced that at this time he would like to table announcing the recipient of the 2020 David C. Edwards Distinguished school Board Member Service award until the recipient can be truly honored and recognized.

At 6:17 p.m. the meeting was adjourned upon a motion by James Beirlein, Hamilton-Fulton-Montgomery BOCES Board Member; seconded by John DeValve, Hamilton-Fulton-Montgomery BOCES Board Member and unanimously carried.

Respectfully submitted,

Christine Eaton
Clerk of the Board