Skip to content
main content starts here

Amanda Rose

Early College Coordinator
Tell us a little about your background.Amanda Rose

I was born and raised in Canajoharie. I grew up on a hobby farm, as member of 4-H for Equine for a majority of my youth and was surrounded by family who were dairy farmers and hay dealers.
My journey in education has evolved over the years. I graduated from high school with an interest in education, though I wasn’t sure of what subject or age level I wanted to pursue. I graduated from Fulton Montgomery Community College with an associate degree in liberal arts then continued my education and graduated from SUNY Cobleskill with a Bachelor of Science degree in child care and development. However, I was still indecisive about my career choice and decided to explore different related professions to gain knowledge and experience. During that time, I found myself both substitute teaching and working with youth in the foster care system. It wasn’t until these experiences did I realize that I definitely did want to teach but my subject of choice was life. I wanted to support and assist students in setting and achieving goals, exploring careers, managing their time and seeking help when necessary. Ten years after graduating from SUNY Cobleskill, I returned to school and received my school counseling degree from Esteves School of Education at Sage Graduate School in Troy.

What exactly does your job entail?

As the Early College Coordinator, I support the high school juniors and seniors at the SUNY Cobleskill campus. Together, we work through the transition to the pace and atmosphere of college academics. Working with the professors I learn and understand the expectation of each student in their classes. I help arrange communication between students and professors when necessary as well as check on student progress. I work to provide both academic and social/emotional support for the students to ensure their success at the college level.

What do you like best about your job?

One of my proudest accomplishments in life has been being a mom. I truly feel that my job gives me the opportunity to be a “school mom.” I am so fortunate to be able to assist the students as they need it, let go when they are ready, and watch them shoot to the top of their success tree.

What are some of your interests outside of work?

I spend most of my time outside of work being a wife and a mother. When I am not fulfilling those roles I enjoy running 5Ks, riding my motorcycle and spending time with family and friends.

If you were able to talk to your 15-year-old self about life, careers and happiness, what advice would you give?

I would reassure my 15-year-old self that everything happens for a reason. I wish I had realized that our path in life leads us to where we are going. I would express to myself that the small actions in life are very important to who you are as an individual (ie. smiling, eye contact, listening). It is important to always work your hardest and take pride in your work.

 

 

Top