Skip to content

Schools closed to students for the rest of the academic year; Campus limited to essential personnel

For updates regarding our ongoing response to COVID-19, visit our Resource and Information page.

main content starts here

FMCC, HFM BOCES honors 2017 graduates of distinction

June 7, 2017 | Filed in Archive, HFM Top Stories

Friends, family, teachers and school administrators gathered at the HFM BOCES Conference Center June 6 to honor 52 graduating seniors for their academic and personal achievements during high school.

Dr. Michel speaks from a podium with Dr. Swanger to his right.

Dr. Michel and Dr. Swanger welcome a crowd of nearly 200 to the Student Recognition Dinner June 6.

Having been continually impressed by the academic and extracurricular excellence seen in the region’s students, FMCC and HFM BOCES worked in partnership last year to establish the Student Recognition Dinner.

“It’s a pleasure to see so many students here that are doing so well in school and have such bright futures,” FMCC President Dr. Dustin Swanger said. “We don’t celebrate our students enough and it’s awesome to be able to do that tonight.”

HFM BOCES District Superintendent Dr. Patrick Michel lauded the students for their wide range of accomplishments.

“I’m so proud of all of you. The young adults here have done phenomenal work in many different aspects of their lives and schools,” Dr. Michel said.

OESJ Superintendent David Halloran hands a certificate to a students as other student look on from the background.

OESJ Superintendent David Halloran hands a recognition certificate to OESJ Salutatorian Liam Sammons.

As evidenced in the biographies presented in the event’s program (Click here to read the biographies), the recognized students took advantage of opportunities of many opportunities in their schools and communities. The students excelled academically, participated in clubs and athletics, volunteered for local charities and non-profits, held jobs at local businesses, been active in churches and community groups, completed internships in the workforce and pursued personal interests and hobbies. One of the honorees even obtained grant funding to start his own business.

Among the honorees were students who traveled abroad to perform missionary work, climbed all the Adirondack High Peaks, championed opportunities for the disabled, participated on championship teams and in award-winning music groups and helped educate fellow students about diversity in their communities and in the world. One student overcame traumatic injuries suffered in a car accident. Despite her injuries, she’ll still graduate on time with her class later this month.

A small child sits in her mother's lap as she'd fed whipped cream and strawberries.

The sister of one of the honorees enjoys dessert prepared by the FMCC Dining Service .

During the event, each student will be individually recognized and awarded a certificate before an audience of school representatives, invited family members and other guests.

The honorees were:

Greater Amsterdam School District

Tazdyn Francisco, Jessica Gardinier, Martina Hughes, Jesse Kellogg and Kelsey Veeder.

Broadalbin-Perth Central School District

Julie Capito, Jake Cope, Emma Holland, Christina Lin and Holley Neznek

Canajoharie Central School District

Dr. Wojeski gives a certificate to a student as other students look on.

Mayfield Junior-Senior High School Principal Dr. Christopher Wojeski gives a recognition certificate to Angelina Mannino.

Austin Peter Countryman, Cassidy Ferguson, Brooke Russell, Christopher Schrell and Nalia Swartz

Fonda-Fultonville Central School District

Emmalee Baker, Avery Cook, Stiven Florez, Anne Sinicropi and Sarah Subik

Fort Plain Central School District

Austin Cotton, Zoe D’Arcangelis, Allie Schuyler, Julia Stockwell and Lexi Veitch

Gloversville Enlarged School District

Rebecca Brown-Weinstock, Zoe Cantelupe, Paula Coleman, Ckailea Kewley and Quentin Reynolds

Greater Johnstown School District

Raina Danylak, Daniel Jarabek, Chloe Salisbury, Tyler Spaid and Casey VanValkenburgh

Mayfield Central School District

Haley Almy, Emily Barker, Molly Lambo, Taylor Madeiros and Angelina Mannino

Northville Central School District

Sadie Marie Cotrofeld, Michael Darling, Taylor Johnson, Alexandra Purdy and Jasmine Vrooman

Oppenheim-Ephratah-St. Johnsville Central

Tyler Clark, Aidan Eggleston, Lyndsey Lynch, Liam Sammons and Georgia Schaffer

Wells Central School District

Daniel O’Connor and Caleb Trezise

Five students stand with their certificates as school administrators and FMCC President Dustin Swanger look on.

Johnstown High School honorees pose for a photo.