Skip to content

Schools closed to students for the rest of the academic year; Campus limited to essential personnel

For updates regarding our ongoing response to COVID-19, visit our Resource and Information page.

main content starts here

2017 graduates honored at CTE Recognition Night

More than 270 students – one of the largest classes in the history of the HFM Career & Technical Center – received their certificates and awards during the 2017 Recognition Night Tuesday, June 20.

Two people stand on stage shaking hands.

CTE Director Jay DeTraglia presents Julia Roth, of Johnstown, with the HFM Superintendent’s Association Award.

Career and Technical Center Director Jay DeTraglia opened the ceremony by recognizing the BOCES Board of Education, administrators and teachers in attendance as well as the many administrators from the component school districts, who came to the event to show their support.

HFM BOCES Board of Education Vice President Joanne Freeman joined Fort Plain student Trent Logan to lead in the Pledge of Allegiance. Logan, who studied culinary arts, will enter the U. S. Marine Corps after school.

District Superintendent Dr. Patrick Michel started his address by thanking the CTE teachers.

“I’ve always believed we have one of the best career and technical education staff in the state. They prove that everyday,” Dr. Michel said.

Two people shake hands on stage

Jordan Spaid of Johnstown is also presented with the HFM Superintendent’s Award.

To the students, Dr. Michel pointed out that in the past many students stopped their education once they completed high school, and then entered the workforce. The workforce, he said, has changed and he predicted that many of the CTE graduates would go on an earn additional degrees. He credited the students for getting a head start by getting marketable job skills while still in high school.

“You are the smart ones because you know what you want to do, and you know where you are going. The vast majority of high school graduates in our state are unsure about what they want to do in the future. You took the time, not only to do your high school work, but you actually volunteered for more work,” he said.

Also during the ceremony, DeTraglia recognized two retiring faculty members. Glenn Marcucio is retiring after 25 years as a vehicle repair and maintenance instructor, and John Pecora is retiring after 14 years as a criminal justice instructor. Click here to read more about the retiring instructors.

Special Awards

Two people shakes hands on stage

CTE Director Jay DeTraglia presents Harrison Harper of Mayfield with the Dr. Geoffrey Davis Memorial Award.

During the ceremony, several special awards were presented to students including:

Dr. Geoffrey H. Davis Memorial Award (CTC Director Jay DeTraglia presents this award in honor of the late Dr. Davis in recognition of scholarship, community service, integrity and the transforming influence of music) – presented to Harrison J. Harper of Mayfield

HFM BOCES Teachers’ Association Award – presented to Megan Lee Alikonis of Amsterdam and Nicholas Bruce of Gloversville

HFM Superintendents’ Association Award – presented to Julia R. Roth and Jordan E. Spaid, both of Johnstown

HFM BOCES Outstanding Professional Student Award – presented to Georgia Schaffer of OESJ and Nalia A. Swartz of Canajoharie

Ben Conte “Pay It Forward” Scholarship Award – presented to Thomas J. Mogensen of Mayfield

Two people stand on stage shaking hands.

Nalia Swartz receives the Outstanding Professional Student Award.

New Visions Outstanding Professional Student Award – presented to Anne Marie Sinicropi of Fonda-Fultonville

Area III Skills USA Awards – presented to Megan Lee Alikonis of Amsterdam

Additional program awards were given to students prior to Tuesday’s cerermony. Click here to see the honorees.

National Technical Honor Society

The 2017 inductees in the National Technical Honor Society were also recognized during the event. The inductees are:

Amsterdam: Cinderae Chrzanowski, Mikayla A. Gunneson, Celine Victoria Gustas, Martina M. Hughes, Jesse S. Kellogg, Arianna Marti, Katrina B. McConville and Alexis N. Tirado

Broadalbin-Perth: Holly Noel Neznek and Ashlyn M. Nowicki

Two people stand on stage shaking hands.

Georgia Schaffer receives the Outstanding Professional Student Award.

Canajoharie: Maddyson K. Casler, Elaina C. Lamb and Nalia A. Swartz

Fonda-Fultonville: Karlin E. Alberts, Harold Florez, Jacob A LaGreca and Anne Marie Sinicropi

Fort Plain: Kierra Jean’Reid, Georgia A. Rolle and Allie Rae Schuyler

Gloversville: Amanda M. Bakyta, Mikayla Lynn Beaudet, Nicholas Bruce, Natalie R. DelCostello, Kierra L. Fountain, Ckailea A. Kewley, Charli Isabelle Morgan, Schuyler Smith, Taylor A. Wadsworth and Lillian Elizabeth Willis

Galway: Jennifer C. Rumsey

Johnstown: Lindsey E. Blackwell, Michael A. Brown, Chelsea R. Cirillo, Paula C. Coleman, Raina M. Danylak, Nicholas M. Frasier, Claire E. Hayes, Jordan W. Herron, Cecelia Marie Mowery, Jordan L. Rose, Jordan E. Spaid, Patrick J. Sprouse, Casey A. VanValkenburgh and Kaila M. Young

Mayfield: Haley J. Almy, Kylie B. Cotugno, Harrison J. Harper and Molly Y. Lambo

Northville: Michael Darling

Oppenheim-Ephratah-St. Johnsville: Aidan F. Eggleston

Wells: Justin Morse and Daniel Elias O’Connor

Click here to see a list of the program award winners and see more photos from the Recognition Night.